Laurel Township Recreation Committee partners with BYF to create a new named grant - 10/4/16

Brighten Your Future (BYF), the Logan-Hocking community’s program to provide access to higher education for graduates of Logan High School, is proud to announce that they will be representing the Laurel Township Recreation Committee to establish a yearly named grant in their name.  The Laurel Township Recreation Committee is dissolving its private scholarship fund and partnering with BYF to create a new named grant for a Laurel Township student for many years to come.

The Laurel Township Recreation Committee was formed shortly after the Logan-Hocking School Board of Education consolidated the Gibisonville Elementary with the Rockbridge Elementary in 1973.  The Gibisonville Elementary School property was then offered to the Laurel Township Trustees and the Trustees accepted.  In 1974 a group of local Laurel Township residents met with the Township Trustees to form the Laurel Township Recreation Committee.

The Laurel Township Recreation Committee’s initial challenge was to assist the Township Trustees with events and activities to assist with fund raising to save as much of the property as possible.

Over the past 42 years, scores of Laurel Township residents, Gibisonville School students, graduates and others have been involved with the Laurel Township Recreation Committee activities.  Fortunately, the elementary building and gymnasium have been saved and maintained as well as other outdoor activity areas.

The Laurel Township Recreation Committee would like to extend its heartfelt gratitude for all of the support they have received through the years and Brighten Your Future would like to thank the Committee for choosing them to carry on the important legacy of this group.Type your paragraph here.

LHS alumni celebrated at BYF breakfast

Khibbard  May 31, 2016

LOGAN — There was a flurry of familiar faces on Saturday as Brighten Your Future sponsored the 37th annual Logan High School Alumni Day.

Bert Larsimont

Brighten Your Future News

February 19, 2015

Brighten Your Future Receives Donation from Former Exchange Student

LOGAN — Brighten Your Future (BYF), a local non-profit organization that generates funds to assist Logan High School graduates continue their education after high school, has received a donation from a former Logan High School/Rotary exchange student.


Trustees of Brighten Your Future (BYF) met recently to consider recommendations from their grant review committee. Following the report, they approved grants for 46 Logan High School graduates. The grants for 2017-18 school year total $81,902, the largest amount in BYF history. Forty-three students received $1,800 each and three students received partial grants. Nanette Swinehart, Executive Director of Brighten Your Future, explained that the dollar amount given in grants each year is based on the earnings of the assets in the trust fund.

BYF Grants are based solely on need, which is determined from documents the students provide as part of their application, including copies of their student air report (FAFSA) and financial aid award letter from their school, according to Swinehart. "Need" is strictly a numerical calculation using this information.

Any person or organization that donates a cumulative amount of $10,000 or more to BYF has a grant given in their name every year. Thirty-three named grants were awarded to the following students for the 2017-2018 school year:

George and Lucy Shaw Grant

Hanna Toph, Mt. Carmel

Bill and Sandy Keynes Grant

Cole Baron, OSU

Logan-Holl Foundation Grant

Kaitlin Jones,OSU

Columbus Foundation Grant

Hannah Barlow, Asbury University

Drs. Harley and Floyd Stone Grant

Rylee Daubenmire-Yates,OU

Logan Rotary Club Grant

Jordan Bungard, OU
Logan-Hocking School District Employees Grant

Isaiah Pickell, Rio Grande
The Gruner Family Grant

Sklar Champ, Wooster

The Citizen’s Bank Grant

James Wells, Ohio Christian University

National City Bank Grant

Tiffany Dalton, OU

Max and Lori Davidson Grant

Alicia Clark, Mt. Carmel School of Nursing
Gale Farmer Grant

Paige Daubenmire, Hocking College
James and Mary Huffman Grant

Benjamen Starkey, Ohio University
Hugh and Kathy Morton Grant

Jakob Goins, Muskingum
Richard C. Brown, Ph.D. Grant

Jacob Brown, OU
Leroy Phelps, Ph.D. Grant

Alexis Hill, Wittenberg
Barton and Regina Holl Grant

Evan Delong, OU
Larry P. Gerstner Grant

Josie Duke, OSU
AMVETS Post 1776 Grant

Autumn Lawless, Hocking College
Marian Sinsel Grant

Sydney Hunter, OU
Joseph and Roseanne Thomas Grant

Rachel Modzelewski, OU
Pamela Dotson Grant

Madison Gabriel, OU
Harold Rheinscheld Grant

Luke Kemper, West Virginia University
Harold and June Drummond Grant

Sharon Lunsford, Capital University
Lenora Sater Pausch Grant

Ambir Myers, OSU
Frederick M. (Rick) Ervin III Grant

Kristen Eads, Ohio University
Faith and Mary Ruth Krinn Grant

Isaiah Smith, Ohio Dominican University
Creighton Phelps Grant

Jordan Wolfe, University of Kentucky
LHS Class of 1952 Grant

Bailey Simons, Ohio University
Daniel J. Matheny Grant

Danny Koska, Ohio University
LHS Class of 1950 Grant

Caleb Taulbee, Wittenberg University
John E. Krieg Grant

Taylor Myers, Coastal Carolina


BYF Awards.

Pictured are Brighten Your Future donors that were recognized and that attended the annual BYF Alumni Breakfast on May 23, 2015 at LHS.  L to R first row:  Judy Woolery, Marge Dollison (representing the LHS Class of 1952), Vera Gable (representing Rick Ervin), B.J. Smith, Trina Barrell.  Second Row L to R:  Butch Myers, Sharon Myers (representing Faith and Mary Ruth Krinn), Dick Brandt (representing Elizabeth Brandt), Don Gable (representing Rick Ervin), John Helber, Bob Lilley (representing Sally Lilley). Not pictured, but recognized for their donations to BYF at the breakfast are: Adaline Buchanan, Larry and Jayne Liff, Larry and Donna Swartz, Steve Polsley, Cummings Properties, Lenora Sater Pausch and Dr. Creighton Phelps.

Stivisons establish BYF named grant

April 26, 2017

LOGAN — Paul and Suzanne Stivison, lifetime Logan residents and Logan High School graduates, recently established a named grant with Brighten Your Future (BYF).


LOGAN - In Tuesday's edition of The Logan Daily News, a name was erroneously reported in the "Logan High School alumni recognized at BYF breakfast" story.

    The paragraph should have read: Lenora Sater Pausch graduated from Logan High School in 1959 and received her Bachelor's Degree from The Ohio State University in 1963. Pausch, who passed away May 2, 2014, was a devoted fan of The Ohio State University athletics and also of the Cleveland Indians. She was a member of the Kappa Delta Sorority and a sponsor of the Pausch Family Scholarship Fund for The Ohio State University, Highland County students. Lenora's husband, Jerry Pausch, established the Lenora Sater Pausch named grant after her death to honor her. Accepting the award for Lenora is her sister, Ann Sauers, a 1965 LHS graduate and her brother Paul Sater, a 1961 LHS graduate.

    The BYF executive director apologizes for the error and any inconvenience this may have caused the family.