Trustees from Brighten Your Future serve as the selection committee for the Leon and Lillian H. Eichel Scholarship Program.  The Eichel’s were the owners of “Leon’s,” a long-time sundry store in downtown Logan, Ohio, for many years. The Leon and Lillian H. Eichel Scholarship Fund awards over $50,000 every year in scholarships to LHS graduates.

Pictured at left are the members of the selection committee:  Front row, Left to right:  Jim Roush, Joe Murtha, Kim Norway.  Back row, left to right:  Chuck Taylor, Nanette Swinehart, Bob Lilley, Lee Ann Helber.

Brighten Your Future was established and incorporated in 1988 as a corporation not for profit as defined in Ohio Revised Code chapter 1702. A board of trustees whose members represent a cross section of the community including business, professional and educational representatives governs the organization. A code of bylaws and regulations describes specific organizational and operational procedures. Executive officers are elected each year and serve at the pleasure of the board of trustees. A part-time executive director manages day-to-day operations of Brighten Your Future.

board of trustees


L to R Front Row

Monte Bainter

Debi Tootle (Keeper of the Minutes)

Nanette Swinehart (Executive Director)

Abigail Saving

Janey Saving

Lee Howdyshell

Ken Dille

Jim Roush

 L to R Back Row:

Van Cardaras

Dick Brandt

Larry Kienzle (Treasurer)

Joe Risch

Bob Lilley (President)

Larry Gerstner

Greg Vermillion (Secretary)

Joe Murtha

Chuck Taylor

Not pictured: Jeff Stimmel

Bill Heath (Trustee Emeritus)

Jim Robinson (Vice President)

Trustee Emeritus: Bill Heath


Educational Grants